The love of art

I love art, I love art galleries, I love the peace of art and galleries. When I tell people this they either agree or look at me like I’ve grown a second head. Art galleries aren’t scary just peaceful. There is nothing right or wrong with art, it either appeals or doesn’t. Just because one person doesn’t like it doesn’t make it any less valid. Art is like reading, everyone appreciates different genres, authors, styles etc. I tell my son this all the time.

Today we visited a local art gallery, which has a lovely children’s art space. We created our own ‘hidden cards’ and finger puppets.

It was a fun session, full of laughter as the children explained their ideas, none ridiculous or stupid, just full of imagination.

Later we took a look at the artwork on the walls, created by famous artists and local schoolchildren. I love how open children are, very opinionated, full of explanations of why they do or don’t like a painting/sculpture but accepting of others views. I think it’s important to encourage children to talk openly but also listen, its a skill more adults should learn.

Leave a Reply

