weekly round up # 5

This might be the last weekly round up for a little while as I’ve something else in mind and I might struggle to do everything.

This week has been a busy but fairly productive one.

Monday I spent the morning sorting my c.v. and applying for a couple of jobs, then had an interview. It was good experience, however it wasn’t a permanent position as advertised only a few months to cover maternity leave.

Tuesday I spent the day at a ‘job fair’ in St George’s Hall in Liverpool, to be honest it wasn’t really much good as most of it was training courses and apprenticeships, but I did come away with some new job sites to check and saw some old colleagues hard at work. Also met up with a couple of my fellow unemployed colleagues and had lunch and a quick look around the shops.

Wednesday was a form filling job application day again, also checked the new sites from Tuesday and got a phone call to arrange a telephone interview.

Thursday I decided to have a break from the computer and helped switch our energy supplier and tv/phone, it was funny to watch my mum have an argument with an automated phone system which actually hung up on her. I watched a couple of films and knitted, the break from forms was very welcome. I did however check my emails and reply to one job advert. The football was back on again and as usual a divided household, Oscar supporting Portugal and Eric supporting Poland.

Friday I took mum out shopping, her car was off the road so we had a mother/daughter day buying much needed essentials (clothes mostly). Oscar and I enjoyed the Wales match however hugging a child holding a handful of pringles is not a good idea, they shatter into a million pieces and go EVERYWHERE. Everyone was supporting Wales so a happy house all round.

Saturday was an at home day, Oscar and I played games, did homework and watched more football, Italy v Germany this time, once again a divided house. At least some happy faces.

Sunday it finally stopped raining and I made it back to the allotment…. it’s been a few weeks and the warm weather and rain isn’t helping as the nettles and bindweed are huge. We spent an hour or so but couldn’t use the brush cutter and manual tools didn’t make much of a dent so decided to call it a day. The weather forecast for the coming week is dry so I’m going to hire one for a week and really get stuck in, the job hunting can take a back seat. Another good match Iceland v France, I would have loved Iceland to win but always thought France would do it. I think a lot more teams (and people) need the Icelandic spirit, no matter how far behind they got they never stopped trying until the final whistle. Iceland are my team of the tournament for spirit and determination.

So more allotment blogs to follow, hopefully without weeds plus my latest idea, borrowed from another blogger but with a twist.

Have a good week folks, fingers crossed the sun shines and rain stays away.

Leave a Reply

